On Wednesday 17th December the notorious statutory instrument was passed by a ballot vote in the House of Commons, which means that fracking is now allowed under National Parks, AONBs, SSSIs, Ramsar Sites, World Heritage sites and all drinking water aquifers. The only catch is that the fracking companies have to set up their drilling rigs just outside the boundaries of these protected areas and drill horizontally underneath.


The vote was carried by 291 votes to 268.

Nottinghamshire MPs

Nottingham North: Graham Allen – Voted AGAINST
Nottingham South: Lilian Greenwood: Voted AGAINST
Nottingham East: Chris Leslie: Voted AGAINST
Gedling: Vernon Coaker: Voted AGAINST
Broxtowe: Anna Soubry: Voted FOR
Ashfield: Gloria De Piero: Voted AGAINST
Mansfield: Alan Meale: ABSTAINED
Rushcliffe: Ken Clarke: Voted FOR
Sherwood: Mark Spencer: Voted FOR
Newark: Robert Jenrick: Voted FOR
Bassetlaw: John Mann: Voted AGAINST

After the vote, Labour’s Energy Minister Lisa Nandy called for a moratorium on fracking, given the lack of evidence that it is safe and the potential threat to the environment.

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /customers/f/8/d/ on line 8

Have your say